游戏本地化成本不可不知的三个问题

Published by service on

游戏本地化成本不可不知的三个问题

July 2022 by LangLink Lois 

游戏本地化经常会给开发商带来意想不到的销量提升。一般而言,一款游戏的本地化平均可为销量带来10%-30%的增长。在需求契合度较佳、玩家基数较多、英文水平较弱的市场,则影响可能是巨大的。据公布,《Defender’s Quest》的俄语本地化之后的销量是原来的220%,而《地精公司》简体中文版本发售仅3个月,销量就整整提升了8倍,并一跃成为这款游戏销量最佳的语言版本,占到总销量的31%。 

游戏本地化不但可以提升游戏在发布平台的排名,获得更多推荐和下载,而且提升玩家体验,赢得口碑,带来可观的回报和更佳的市场影响力。因此,越来越多游戏开发商愿意投资游戏本地化。

那么本地化一款游戏需要多少成本?游戏本地化各项服务的计费规则及各个市场语言翻译单价如何?如何节省?了解游戏本地化成本,我们从这三个不可不知的问题入手。

    1. 本地化一款游戏需要多少成本?

    不同游戏本地化成本差别很大,根据游戏本地化行业调研,平均而言,游戏本地化成本约占一款游戏开发成本的不到1%,小型游戏则占比会高一些。游戏本地化所需的花费取决于您所采购的服务内容、所选语言和项目规模、您需要的处理速度以及您所选的本地化合作伙伴和您的质量要求。

    • 采购的服务内容:通常本地化一款游戏会涉及前期工程、风格指南和术语表创建、文本翻译、配音、测试和项目管理等相关流程和费用。您所需支付的费用就是您所采购服务内容的加总。
    • 所选语言和项目规模:选择本地化的语言越多,项目规模越大,您所需的花费就越多。
    • 处理速度:通常本地化一个语种的日均产出在2000-4000字/日,若您需要本地化公司加急处理,则通常会有30%-50%的加急费。
    • 本地化合作伙伴:术业有专攻,精专于游戏本地化或拥有专门游戏本地化团队的语言服务提供商比一般语言服务提供商更熟悉流程,拥有更多游戏翻译资源,可为您提供更灵活及具成本效益的解决方案。
    • 质量要求:更高质量要求的解决方案会需要更严谨的质量保证流程,因此所要求的质量越高,成本越高。您需要根据您的策略决定采购的服务质量水平。

    2. 游戏本地化各项服务的计费规则及各个市场语言翻译单价如何?

    一般而言,文本翻译按字数付费,其他游戏本地化相关服务则多数按时间结算,游戏配音则按句数付费。据Game Developer平台调研,全球游戏厂商采购的各个语种翻译单价多数介于$0.07-0.18/字之间,个别市场费用较高(如日本和法德)。每家公司收费标准略有不同,您所选语言供应商所处的地点决定了他们更具竞争力的语言对,因为他们有优势建立起所在区域的资源网络。据Game Developer披露,热门语言的翻译单价范围大致如下:

    3. 如何节省游戏本地化成本?

    做好内容规划,构思游戏阶段就考虑本地化因素。在游戏开发之前做好本地化规划,例如提前确定游戏发布市场,了解进入特定市场的规则及文化特性,前瞻性地做一些国际化和文化适应性设计,避免硬编码,并在本地化时向翻译公司提供精简文本及便于编辑的文件格式是明智之举。这样做可以减少需要更改的次数以及更改带来的新成本。

    高质量的游戏原文内容。质量不佳的原文内容将难以翻译,导致翻译人员提出额外的问题,增加沟通成本,减慢翻译速度。高质量的游戏原文内容不仅使本地化进程更顺利,产出结果也更优质,用户体验也会更好。

    选择英文作为源语言或翻译的中间语言。以英文作为源语言或翻译的中间语言通常是最具成本效益的选择。这意味着用英语规划您的游戏内容,或先将您的内容翻译成英文,然后翻译成其他语言。原因很简单——找到英语翻译更容易也更便宜。不寻常的语言组合更昂贵,优质的翻译人员很难找到。

    使用CAT工具。经验表明,由于文本的重复率,使用CAT工具平均可节省20%左右的翻译成本,而大型MMO游戏则可能节省多达35%

    做好时间规划。正所谓“慢工出细活”,给翻译公司充足的时间翻译游戏,即可保障质量,又可避免需要支付加急费的情况。

    选择专业的游戏本地化合作伙伴。精专于游戏本地化的团队拥有丰富的游戏语言专家、专业的流程和技术可确保优质高效的产出。他们会利用CAT工具、术语和翻译记忆库为您的游戏提供长期节省的解决方案,而且优异的质量也可避免风险,减少您验证质量的时间和成本。若您有充足的时间物色目标市场的可靠供应商,您或还可节省10%左右的费用。

    关于LangLink Game

    LangLink Game 与游戏发行商和开发商合作,为手机游戏、桌面游戏、主机游戏、网页游戏和棋盘游戏打造本地化解决方案,提供超过 60 种目标语言。

    我们擅长的游戏类型包括模拟类、策略类、角色扮演类、冒险类等等。我们为许多热门游戏提供专业的本地化服务,代表作包括《权力的游戏》、《侠盗猎车手 V》、《Neo Cab》、《战争机器系列》、《战锤40K》、《十字军之王 III》和《群星》等

    LangLink游戏本地化解决方案如何帮助客户节省成本?

    LangLink 精专于游戏本地化,我们通过以下方式为客户提供可靠且长期节省的游戏本地化解决方案:

    目标市场资源:我们直接与目标市场硬核玩家、母语人士和专业游戏译者合作,以优质产出减少客户的质量风险,以高效运营模式可让客户从中受益。

    定制项目流程:我们与客户精诚合作。我们会及早介入客户的本地化流程,深入了解客户需求,为客户定制专门团队和项目流程,以ISO 9001:2015 质量标准运营每个项目,确保本地化流程运作顺畅、产出优质。

    前沿技术:我们使用适合游戏本地化的CAT工具,支持敏捷本地化,可确保高效产出。我们利用翻译记忆库、模糊匹配,重复识别技术为客户提供长期折扣,并利用术语和语料管理确保翻译一致性。


    0 Comments

    发表评论

    Avatar placeholder

    您的电子邮箱地址不会被公开。

Three Must-Ask Questions about the Cost of Localizing a Game

Published by service on

Three Must-Ask Questions about the Cost of Localizing a Game

July 2022 by LangLink Lois 

Localizing a game can often lead to unexpected sales increases for developers. On average, the localization of a game can boost sales by 10%-30%. Together with good product-market fit and a large player base, this can make a big difference in non-English speaking markets. According to reports, the sales of Defender’s Quest are 220% of the original after it is localized for Russian-speaking markets. Equivalently, the Simplified Chinese version of Gremlins, Inc. had only been on the market for three months, and the sales have soared by 8 times. What’s more, it had become the top-selling language version of the game, accounting for 31% of the total sales.

Localizing a game can not only promote the game’s rankings on launch platforms to earn more recommendations and downloads, but also can enhance the player experience, win a good reputation, and generate significant returns and market influence. As a result, more and more game developers are willing to invest in game localization.

So how much does it cost to localize a game? What are the charging rules for various game localization services and the unit price of translating a game into another language in different markets? How can you reduce the cost? To know the cost of localizing a game, let’s start by answering the following three must-ask questions.

    1. How much does it cost to localize a game?

    The cost of localizing a game varies widely. According to a survey on the game localization industry, on average, the cost of localizing a game is less than 1% of that of developing the game, while the ratio is higher for mini-games. In addition, the cost of localizing a game depends on the services you purchase, the language(s) you choose and the size of your project, the speed you need to process it, the localization partner you choose, and your quality requirements.

    • The services you purchase: Generally, localizing a game involves procedures and charges related to pre-processing, style guide and glossary creation, text translation, dubbing, testing, and project management. The fees you pay are the sum of the charges for the services you purchase.
    • The language(s) you choose and the size of your project: The more languages you choose and the larger your project, the more you will have to spend.
    • The speed you need to process it: The average daily output of localization for a language is 2,000-4,000 words, and expedited processing will incur an additional fee of 30%-50% of the charges.
    • The localization partner you choose: Language service providers that specialize in game localization or have a team dedicated to game localization are more familiar with the procedures and have more game translation resources to provide you with more flexible, cost-effective solutions than average language service providers.
    • Your quality requirements: Solutions with higher quality requirements require more rigorous quality assurance procedures, so the higher your quality requirements, the higher the cost. You need to determine the level of quality of services you purchase based on your strategy.

    2. What are the charging rules for various game localization services and the unit price of translating a game into another language in different markets?

    In general, text translation is charged by word count; other game localization services are mostly charged by the time spent; dubbing is charged by sentence count. According to a survey by the Game Developer platform, the unit price of translation into a language purchased by game developers around the world is mostly between $0.07 and $0.18 per word, with higher costs in individual markets (for example, in Japan, France, and Germany). Each company charges slightly differently, and the location of your chosen language service provider determines their more competitive language pairs, as they have the advantage of building a network of resources in their region. According to Game Developer, the price range for popular languages is as follows:

    3. How can you reduce the cost?

    Plan your content by taking localization into account at the start of your game design. It is wise to make localization planning before game development, for example, to determine the market for game release in advance, understand the rules and cultural characteristics of entering a specific market, incorporate some forward-looking internationalization and cultural-adaptive design, avoid hard coding, and provide your localization partner with concise text and a file format that is easy to edit. Doing so helps reduce the number of changes required and the cost newly incurred by such changes.

    Ensure high-quality source text. Poor-quality source text is difficult to translate and thus leads to additional questions from translators, increasing the communication cost and slowing down translation. High-quality source text not only makes localization smoother but also contributes to a better outcome as well as a better user experience.

    Choose English as the source language or intermediate language for translation. This is usually the most cost-effective option. This means planning your game content in English or translating your source text into English first and then into another language. The reason is simple — it’s easier and less expensive to find a translator who translates from/into English, while it’s difficult and expensive to find a competent translator who translates between a less common language pair.

    Use CAT tools. Experience has shown that, due to in-text repetition, using CAT tools can save the average translation cost by around 20%, while the ratio can be as high as 35% for large MMO games.

    Make a well-planned schedule. As the saying goes, soft fire makes sweet malt. By giving the translation company enough time to translate your game content, you can expect higher quality and avoid an additional fee for expedited processing.

    Choose a professional game localization partner. A team dedicated to game localization has a large pool of linguists, professional procedures, and technologies in this regard to ensure high-quality, efficient output. They use CAT tools, glossary, and translation memory to generate a solution for you to save the cost of localizing your game in the long run. Superior-quality output also avoids risks and reduces your time and cost to validate its quality. You may also save about 10% if you have enough time to find a reliable supplier in your target market.

    LangLink Gaming Localization Solution

    LangLink works with both game publishers and developers and offer game localization solutions for mobile, desktop, console, browser, and board games into more than 60 languages. We specialise in various types of gaming localization like Simulation, Strategy, RPG, Action, Adventure and much more. Therefore it is our pleasure to provide the professional localization service for the famous game titles including  “Game of Thrones”, “Grand theft auto V”, “Neo Cab”, “Gears of War”, “Crusader Kings III”, “Warhammer 40,000”, “Stellaris”. 

    How does LangLink’s game localization solution help our clients save the cost?

    LangLink specializes in game localization. We provide our clients with reliable solutions that help save the cost of localizing a game in the long run through the following ways:

    Target market resources: We work directly with hard-core players, native speakers, and professional gaming translators in the target market to reduce quality risks with high-quality output and to let our clients benefit from an efficient operating model.

    Customized project procedures: We cooperate with our clients in good faith. We get ourselves involved in our clients’ localization procedures as early as we can to get a deep understanding of their needs, set up customized teams and project procedures, and run each project according to the ISO 9001:2015 quality standard to guarantee smooth localization and high-quality output.

    Cutting-edge technology: We use CAT tools suitable for game localization to support agile localization and ensure efficient production. We also apply translation memory, fuzzy matching, and repetition recognition techniques to offer long-term discounts to our clients, and manage glossary and corpus to ensure consistent translation.


    0 Comments

    Leave a Reply

    Avatar placeholder

    Your email address will not be published.